American Cookies

Last time I checked, the American Cookie was the all people’s favorite. And that’s quite a funny thing because it’s actually one of the most easy to make and simple recipe on this planet. So that confirms that complex things aren’t always the yummiest things.
Whenever I bake American Cookies, I have to make sure that I hide some for myself because they’re gone before you know it. I mean, literally. You can’t blink your eyes without at least one disappearing. And as I’m human, it’s quite impossible not to blink my eyes. So if I make, for instance, 16 cookies, you can bet on it that they’ll be gone by the end of the evening, and that’s actually not such a bad thing because they kinda slack when you leave them out for too long, except for if you were planning on eating them all yourselves.
Anyway, that’s not really the true problem. As always, I’m the problem. Or no, the cookie dough is the problem.
I crave everything cookie dough. Ben&Jerry’s cookie dough ice cream, cookie dough dip, cookie dough cake, and I can go on for ages. It’s just so… doughy.
For example, when I was little, not that’s not really true. Up until now, I sometimes buy packages of Herta Cookie Dough and eat them raw. I prefer making my own dough, so after I eat a pack of instant cookie dough, I just make cookie dough and I don’t have that big urge to eat my own concoction. And just to energize my statement that I’ve got kind of an addiction to sugary food I’ll tell you a secret. Well, it’s not really a secret anymore when it’s all over the internet, but what the heck. The thing I like to do with a freshly baked cookie, is to smear Nutella all over it, or just dip it in hot chocolate. To top it off, I even drink hot chocolate or milk with it, and I can tell you from personal experience that the nauseousness afterwards is all worth it. So go all the way with your cookie and enjoy!


American Cookies

Ingredients

  • 130 g unsalted butter, melted
  • 190 g light brown bastard sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp milk
  • 220 g all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 250 g chocolate chips

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C and cover a baking tray with parchment paper.
  2. Put the sugar and melted butter in a bowl and whisk in the vanilla extract. Add the egg while beating the mixture and put in the milk. Sift the flour with the baking powder and add to the sugary mixture. Stir in the chocolate chips.

_DSC0008

3. Take a tablespoon of cookie dough and form it to something that looks like a ball. Place it on the baking tray and repeat this process. Leave a 4 cm distance in between the cookie dough balls.

_DSC0016

4. Bake the cookies for about 14 minutes and make sure you check them once in a while to see if the bottom isn’t burnt. If the cookies are already dark brown on the bottom but not fully baked, try to put the baking tray as high in your oven as possible, to speed up the baking process for the cookie top.

_DSC0088

I know my cookies look kinda burnt, but they were actually just golden brown at the bottom. So don’t panic if they look slightly overdone! Just check the bottom and if you really don’t like the dark brown color, you can just scrape it off.
So this recipe makes about 16 cookies (depending on how big your tablespoons are). If you can’t eat your cookies straight away, put them in an air-tight box, and they’ll be able to remain crisp for about a day or two.


Pictures taken by myself and not really edited by my brother, Jesse.

Original recipe from: Zoete gerechten by Veltman Uitgevers (the best, little cookbook in the world)

Special thanks to Herta for making incredible tasting, unbaked, instant cookie dough.

Leave a Reply

