Lotus Speculoos Tiramisu (or Biscoff Tiramisu)

It’s been a while since I posted a new post, isn’t it?

Don’t hate, I’m such a busy person *ahum ahum*. Not. But yeah, actually I am… But no. But yeah, but no, but yeah, but no, butyeah, butno, butyeahbutno, butbutbutbut. Well. I’ve spent a lot of time on my laptop since my last post. Mostly doing homework and searching for videos of cute cats taking over dogs’ beds, like this one here: http://www.wimp.com/dogbeds/.

I did spend some time in my kitchen too, since I’m writing this blogpost about tiramisu, and not about cats that fail to jump. Okay okay, one more, but this is the last one: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Awf45u6zrP0.

Anyway, the holiday season is coming on, and festivities like Christmas and New Year’s Eve need to be celebrated with a lot of desserts and booze. And combining them makes double the pleasure! And what better way to impress your guests with a nice dessert (and getting ’em drunk in the meantime) than making tiramisu. It’s quite a traditional dessert that everybody likes, it’s something that you can easily down after a big meal, and it’s ready in no time. But this wouldn’t be my blog if I didn’t give the original recipe a spin! I replaced the traditional Italian finger biscuits by the typical Belgian Lotus Speculoos cookies (the international name for this cookie is ‘Biscoff’, but I think that’s just a really weird word), and the result is super yummie! This is an all time favorite for all of my family members and a lot of my friends, so try it out and feel free to tell me all about your result 😀 .

_DSC0217

A nice way to serve this dessert on a party is to assemble the tiramisu in jars or glasses. It’s also possible to make a big dish of tiramisu and just pop it in a glass if you want to save yourself some time (like I did in the picture above), but assembling it in the jar itself makes it more presentable ofcourse 😉 .
If you just want to make this dessert for your family (or you just want to eat the damn thing on your own), it’s easier to just assemble it in a dish and serve it on plates.

_DSC0130


Lotus Speculoos Tiramisu (or Biscoff Tiramisu)

Ingredients

  • 125g Lotus speculoos (Lotus biscoff cookies)
  • 250g mascarpone
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 1 egg white
  • 50g powdered sugar
  • 2 tbsp Amaretto (ex. Disaronno)
  • Strong coffee

Instructions

  1. Mix the egg yolks, powdered sugar and amaretto together and beat until you get a light-colored and creamy mixture. Add the mascarpone to the mixture and give it a good mix until smooth.
  2. Beat the egg white until stiff peaks form. Gently fold the egg white into the mascarpone mixture with a wooden spoon.
  3. Make some strong tasting coffee and take a 16 x 12 cm oven dish.
  4. Dip the cookies one by one in the coffee and place  them on the bottom of the dish (not all of them of course, you need some more for the next 2 layers). Cover the cookie layer with some cream and on top of that place another layer of coffee-soaked cookies. Repeat this once more, but make sure that you end with a layer of cream.
  5. Put the tiramisu in the fridge for at least 4 hours, but preferably overnight, to set.
  6. Serve the tiramisu and be ready to stuff yourself like a turkey is being stuffed on Thanksgiving.

This dish serves 4 people (less if you got a family like mine), but you can easily just double the quantities to make a bigger portion. The dessert can be stored for about 3 days maximum, in the fridge(!).

_DSC0202


 

This recipe was one of my first and I really can’t recall where I got it from. I adapted it a bit along the way, so I guess I can say it’s pretty much my own now 🙂 .

The pictures were taken by myself (as always),  but damn it’s hard to take pictures of tiramisu without it looking like a pile of well, yeah you know…

And last of all, excuse me for the long wait y’all !

Leave a Reply

